Skip to content

Today, Tuesday 3 October, the Scottish Cyber Awards reveals its shortlist. The top event in the cyber calendar, the awards showcase the best of the country’s talent.

In a hugely competitive year, judges commended all entrants for their outstanding applications, demonstrating the wealth of expertise within the sector. Now in its seventh year, the awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of stand-out individuals and organisations in the world of Scottish cyber security.

Providing an opportunity to network, share ideas and celebrate achievements in the industry, the awards will be held on November 30 at Edinburgh’s Assembly Rooms. This year also sees the introduction of the Financial Fraud Team of the Year Award, which will acknowledge efforts to tackle this rapidly increasing crime.

Jude McCorry, CEO of the Cyber and Fraud Centre – Scotland, said: “Now in its seventh year, the Scottish Cyber Awards are once again proving what a diverse array of talent and innovation Scotland has to offer in the cyber world. What stood out this year in particular, was the collaborative approach that was evidenced in so many of the applications. We’re looking forward to celebrating these finalists with the greater cyber community and as ever I want to thank all applicants and the wider community for your continued support.”

The finalists are:

Financial Fraud Team of the Year sponsored by Bytes and SecureWorks

Cyber Fraud Detection Team, Morgan Stanley

Edinburgh Fraud Triage Hub, Police Scotland

NatWest Fraud Team

New Emerging Talent from Education sponsored by Beyond Blue

Alice McGready (ID Cyber Solutions)

Allena Matheson-Dear (Weir Group)

Stephen Rattigan (ID Cyber Solutions)

Most Inspiring Woman In Cyber sponsored by Lloyds Banking Group

Christine Eckford (CEO at Citizens of Cyber and Cyber Lecturer at West Lothian College)

Sonia Kumar (Element Materials Technology)

Timi Adegunwa (Black and Scot)

Leading Education Programme sponsored by ID Cyber Solutions and EC Council

Cyber in Schools Outreach (CISO)

Cybersafe Scotland

National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC)

Diversity Programme Sponsored by Hampden & Co

Christine Eckford (Citizens of Cyber)

ISIMI Collaboration and Automation Technologies EMEA (iCAT EMEA, Morgan Stanley)

Timi Adegunwa (Black and Scot)

Educator of the Year sponsored by SQA

Eva Wilkinson (Education Scotland)

Darren Brown (Inverness High School)

Iain Shand (West College Scotland)

Young Person of the Year sponsored by Waterstons 

Alan Goodwil (NatWest Banking Group)

Rebecca Leitch (SP Energy Networks)

Steven Elder (Systal)

Cyber Team of the Year sponsored by Accenture

ISIMI Collaboration and Automation Technologies EMEA (iCAT EMEA, Morgan Stanley)

Lloyds Banking Group Cyber Intelligence Operations Centre (CYIOC)

Police Scotland Cyber Investigations Team          

Community Award Sponsored by CyberScotland

Basil Manoussos (Edinburgh Napier University)

Daniel Sellers (Scottish Government)

ScotlandIS Cyber


Leader of the Year sponsored by McNally Recruitment 

Alexander Dowall (Police Scotland)

Beverly Bowles (ScotlandIS)

Jai Aenugu (TechForce Cyber)

Best New Start Up Sponsored by Closed Door Security 




Internationalisation Award Sponsored by CheckPoint

Closed Door Security LTD

ID Cyber Solutions

Tickets are now on sale for the award ceremony and can be ordered on the Scottish Cyber Awards website here: